Scuba Diving

Being surrounded on all sides by the most clear, brilliant blue ocean that just happens to be inhabited by all manner of marine life, it wasn’t so much a decision to immediately commence exploring the water around us, as a logical statement.  We live in Hawaii.  Therefore we must snorkel, swim, scubadive, surf, paddleboard, fish, boat… you get the idea.

Just this past weekend, I finished up my scuba certification so I’m now officially a certified open water diver.  So far it has been a lot of fun!  There are 4 required open water dives for the qualification, so we went out to Electric Beach and got to swim around the coral and poke things between skills tests.  The underwater world is unbelievable!  It’s so pretty and vibrant!  I’d take pictures, but water isn’t very conducive to the proper function of digital cameras.

I also finished up an audition for the University of Hawaii music program… We’ll see how that turns out.

Anyways, that’s what I’ve been up too!  Has anybody else done scuba-diving or snorkeling in the tropics???

2 thoughts on “Scuba Diving

  1. Dennis Green says:

    Barb and I have done both SCUBA and snorkel in Hawaii and it is beautiful. I wish I could be there. I know you must be having a great time. Congrats on the certifications. Hawaii is one of the great dive spots, but it will spoil you.

  2. Celeste G. Peterson says:

    Seems to me the Sailor man has a device for underwater photography, maybe it’s deep in a box somewhere. However, photos never do the underwater world justice unless you’re close to the surface or have a really powerful flash.
    I loved diving/snorkeling on Guam, created some of my favorite memories. I love the feeling of being suspended, and can go up or down or not, as I pleased!

Leave a Reply

