Busy-ness and business

I’m realizing that my well-intentioned vow to update more regularly just hasn’t been working out.  Somehow when I’m busy and I have to choose between things to do, I just put off writing a blog post, which is really kinda sad, but whatever.  Who would have thought running a house could be such a time-consuming job?!?  (I say this in sarcasm, ladies.  Don’t take offense.)

Every morning I get up with my Diverman, make him his coffee and pack a lunch for him.  It’s usually about 6:30 when he leaves and I start picking up the house.  I do the dishes, start laundry, make the bed, and spend an eternal amount of time trying to decide whether the floor needs vacuumed/mopped 😛

As simple as that sounds, it generally takes me until 11 AM, and then I just have a couple hours to decide what to make for dinner, because I need to start cooking by 2 PM, most days.  Somewhere in the edges, I try very hard to practice my violin, and write on my books.

I need to make myself a schedule.  And a menu.  This I know and continue to tell myself, but it just never happens.  I’m kind of loath to make a menu, because it honestly makes me feel boxed in.  I love paging through my cookbooks or browsing recipes online to find new and exotic recipes.  Unfortunately, that is neither time efficient or economical.  I guess I’ll be compromising with myself on that one.

I love it all though.  There’s nothing quite as rewarding as seeing the man I love walk through the door after work and hearing him say that whatever I’m cooking smells delicious.

It kind of worries me that I haven’t had any major cooking mishaps.  All newlywed wives are supposed to burn the toast, coffee, cake, or something and so far I haven’t.  Either I’m very, very lucky, or the mishaps are going to pile up on me here shortly.  Okay, I take that back–I burned a pizza.  But it was a box pizza from the store and it was still yummy…. yeeeah, I think I should still be worried.  hehe, I guess there’s always the other option too–I did all of my cooking screw-ups growing up and cooking for my brothers and sisters.  Poor kids.

On a different note–but still as an update on my life–I’ve recently started a business venture.  I just wasn’t having any luck with finding a generic job.  Application after application went in,  I only got one interview out of all the applications, and they didn’t end up hiring me.  I know why, honestly, and I can’t blame them.  Just looking at my resume, I’d only hire me because I know the whole story, I know that I’m a very hard worker, and I know that the experience listed on paper is only that incredibly narrow margin of professional experience I have under my belt.

Anyways, I could go off on a rant about how I feel that modern education and social ideas have given our younger generation a horrible beating in the name of childhood, but I’ll save that for another day.  What I started to say was that I’ve started my own business (“You see that?  You don’t hire me, I’ll start my own business. *blows a raspberry*”)

I’m now a Mary Kay Independent Beauty Consultant.  It really seems like it should be a viable business option, especially in this location, so I’m going to pray that it goes well and give it a whirl.  Also, the Mary Kay motto is awesome “God first, family second, career third”. That suits me exactly and I’m sure that this is what God has planned for me in this chapter of my life. We’ll see how it goes.

I have a short story ready that I’m going to read over one last time and post up here for opinions.  I want to hear what you all think, because if it’s any good I may try submitting it to a magazine!  So real, live, opinions–okay?  Great!

Have a wonderful Independence Day weekend, everybody, and remember the principles this country was founded on!

“We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness. That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed. That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the right of the people to abolish it and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness. Prudence, indeed, will dictate that Governments long established should not be changed for light and transient causes; and accordingly all experience hath shewn, that mankind are more disposed to suffer, while evils are sufferable, than to right themselves by abolishing the forms to which they are accustomed. But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same Object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute despotism it is their right, it is their duty, to throw off such Government, and to provide new Guards for their future security.” ~ The Declaration of Independence

Scary how close it strikes to home, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

