Cranberries

Today I have a lot of catching up to do on this thankfulness thing.   I’ve been thinking of things that I’m thankful for quite regularly, but for some reason my life in the last week hasn’t been incredibly conducive to jotting them down.  At any rate, I’m officially on Thanksgiving break, and my superman is home with me in time for Thanksgiving, so I’ll get right to it.

~ I’m thankful for cranberries.  Particularly, that somehow they got lovely whole cranberries to the commissary in Hawaii from someplace out in Maine.  I hadn’t seen any when I was shopping for the Thanksgiving supplies and was all disappointed, but just yesterday when we had to do a quick run (really, the only thing quick about that trip getting out of the car at the beginning and loading the groceries into the back of the car at the end.  Can we say LINES and LINES of people at the checkouts?  Yes, yes we can.) for some eggs and milk and a couple other random things that had nothing to do with Thanksgiving, I saw them.  Right at the front of the store.  Seasonal Item!!!  Cranberries.  My family’s cranberry sauce will live on in my home.  Even in Hawaii.

~ I’m very thankful for family.  I haven’t mentioned it sooner because writing about it seems like it should be an enormous undertaking, but I’ve decided it won’t really be possible to write about all the ways our family is awesome, so I’ll just hit the high points.  I’m thankful for my little brothers and sisters who love to argue about who gets to talk to me when I call.  It’s weird to be missing all their growing-up milestones, and kinda sad to realize that the littlest ones will probably not know me very well at all until they’re grown or until my superman and I move back to Kentucky, but that’s life for now, and I’m so thankful for each of them, whether they know my hubby and me (and Baby P, eventually) very well or not.  I’m thankful for the parents, and the talks about politics that I have with Dad, and the chats I have with Mom about all things house-y and the neighborhood news, and babies, of course.  I’m also incredibly thankful for the family I married into.   I love my in-laws, and can’t help feeling bad for people who don’t get along so well with theirs.  Mine have been absolutely wonderful from day one, and I’m so blessed to be part of their clan.

There are so many wonderful things about family that it would be easy to go on, but I think we all get the gist of it.  Family is an amazing gift.  Period.

~ I’m thankful for breaks from school.  I’m very, very ready for this one.

~ I’m thankful for food, and all the things around the house that it’s so easy to take for granted.  I’m especially thankful for pasta sauce.  A week or so ago I popped open a can to make some pizza roll thingys and the stuff tasted so amazing I wanted to eat it.  With a spoon.  Out of the jar.  I’m hoping that’s just the pregnancy talking because that’s really gross. (And if you’re wondering, I did not cave to temptation.  I ate my spaghetti sauce as a condiment like a good girl.

That’s all for now…

Happy Thanksgiving everybody!!!

Leave a Reply

