Look out Third-Trimester, I’m coming for you!

This is it, people!  We’ve officially made it to the third trimester.  2/3 of the way done.  Last leg, here we come!

According to the all-knowing MyPregnancy app the littlest Pea weighs about 2 pounds and is 14.5 inches long.  She is sleeping and waking at regular intervals, blinking her sweet little eyes, and simulating the use of her lungs.  Personally, I think the app might be yanking my chain.  She feels way too big to be just 2 pounds.  Yeah, MyPregnancy, explain to me how my sweet, darling little baby girl can simultaneously punch my bladder and stick her head (or feet, I guess, depending on which direction she’s pointing) up into my lungs behind my ribs.   2 pounds. Ha!  Then again, I’ve never had a 2 pound person growing inside me before, so I wouldn’t really know what it feels like.  But she feels big.

Overall though, I can’t complain.  I’ve had a pretty exceptionally easy pregnancy so far, and a little extra discomfort for the last leg of the journey is to be expected.  For the most part, all her little kicks and squirms just tickle anyways.

The superman and I have christened her Wigglebutt and I think that will be the nickname that sticks, poor child.  If you’re watching when she moves, you can see my belly turn into a little animated cartoon show.  That cracks me up.  If I could draw, I’d draw little cartoon figures on my belly and video tape it when she makes them move.  This actually worries me–I’m way too easily entertained.  She’s been engaging in all sorts of aerobics since around 5 this morning…  I think this goes down as the first time she has actually kept me awake.  I sleep like a rock, too, so I’m more inclined to believe I was just done sleeping for the night and she made sure of it.

We really, really, can’t wait to meet her.  It’s going to be awesome.   Teeny tiny little dresses and socks.  Nightgowns and hair ribbons.  Sugar and spice and everything nice…. Plus, I won’t look so goofy when I borrow Dr. Suess books from the library 😀

 

Leave a Reply

