In Which I Rant About the Excessively Poor Quality of Clothing Today… Again

This seems to be a regular complaint for me.  Either I’m griping about the ridiculous fashions that remain in style in spite of the fact that I despise them, or I’m complaining about the shockingly low quality of manufactured clothing.  Today it’s the latter.

Firstly, just to make sure we’re all on the same page here… I typically buy pretty middle-of-the-line clothing.  I’m not spending $200 dollars on a pair of maternity pants that I’ll wear for three months at a time, and only as often as I’m prego.  That being said, I bought most of my maternity clothes at Motherhood Maternity.  It ain’t Prada, but it isn’t Walmart either.

Here’s the thing.  I didn’t even have to wear maternity clothes until I was a good 6 months along.  Now I’m at the end of my pregnancy, so at the very most, I’ve been wearing these clothes for 3 months.  They’re falling apart.  Quite literally.  I have 4 pairs of maternity jeans.  2 from Motherhood Maternity, and 2 from Old Navy.  The ones from MM are ripping out all around the elastic waistband, and even along some seams in the legs.  And let me say this again, just to stress the point… I’ve been wearing them for 3 months.  THREE.  Count ’em. I’m not hard on clothes.  I don’t even wear these jeans every day–I wear skirts and shorts at least half the time because it’s Hawaii and it’s hot.

Obviously (why else would I be blogging about it), this bothers me.  I expect a crappy pair of jeans to last a single year at the very, very least.  In maternity that would equal 3 or 4 pregnancy’s, assuming I only have to wear the pants for 3 or 4 months at a time.  I don’t know if this is the new trend–to support the necessity of having a new wardrobe twice or three times a year or what, but I personally think it’s ridiculous. 

I like shopping as much as the next girl, but if quality is going to be shoddy, the prices should be lower to match.

Lest you think I’m over-reacting, let me assure you–it wasn’t just the pants.  All of my maternity shirts have developed the “nubbies” (for lack of a better term) and look like rags.  I don’t think it’s too much to expect that maternity clothes should look decent through a single pregnancy.  Personally, I think they should last through at least 3 pregnancy’s before looking dead and tired.

I always thought MM must be a halfway decent store.  It’s a specialty store, right?  Am I wrong about this?  Maybe.  Will I buy any more maternity clothes from Motherhood Maternity?  I doubt it.  I found Old Navy maternity jeans at a local thrift store for $5 a pair and even though they’re used, they’re holding up better than the “specialty” jeans.

It’s not just Motherhood Maternity, to be fair.  Most of the stores in the mall are littered with pricey but embarrassingly poor quality clothing.  Unless you pay upwards of $50 for a piece of clothing at a more upscale store like Ann Taylor or Nordstrom, chances are good that it will be falling apart or look like a rag in less than a year. 

Maybe I should be rejoicing at the opportunity to actually need to replace my wardrobe every 6 months.  I don’t know.  The point is that I’m not.  I want to add to my wardrobe every 6 months and be able to build a nice selection of classy clothes that will last 10 to 15 years.

Please get it together, Clothes Manufacturing Companies!  If you’re going to sell cheap clothes, at least make them cheap.  $5 or $10 per piece, tops.  Thanks.

 

(P.S. and just in case the person who is making skinny jeans stay popular is reading this… please.stop.this.trend.NOW!  xoxo, Elizabeth)

Leave a Reply

