Sophia Louise Peterson

Image

Our little Wigglebutt was born April 12, at 2:55 in the morning!  She weighed 8 pounds, 10 ounces, and was 20.5 inches long.

She is just the sweetest thing in the whole wide world!  Superman and I are head over heels in love with her–and we think all of her grandparents and aunts and uncles are pretty taken with her too!

We were scheduled for induction on the 13th, and had completely given up hope that she would come on her own before then.  We were even making plans for what we wanted to do on the 12th, to especially enjoy the last day of “just us” for a while.  I guess she just decided that as long as we weren’t expecting it, she might as well pop on out.  My water broke at 11 PM on the 11th, and she was out and screaming by 3 in the morning.  It was so much harder and faster than I imagined it would be.  I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised.  It’s childbirth, right?  But still…

When we checked into labor and delivery I was already in a considerable amount of pain and told the nurse I thought it was going to be a fast labor.  She just rolled her eyes (yes, she actually rolled her eyes at an uncomfortable pregnant woman–ridiculous, right?) and pretty much said, “yeah, whatever… it’s your first kid.”  That really annoyed me (even though the -it’s-your-first-kid-you-have-no-idea-what-is-about-to-happen part was true), and I gotta admit I felt very justified when Sophia popped out less than 4 hours later.

To be completely honest I don’t remember much about those four hours.  The contractions were about one minute apart for the whole time and I wasn’t able to relax between contractions at all.  I had wanted to do the whole shebang naturally but I only made it halfway (I think it was halfway–wasn’t doing so great telling time at that point) before I asked for pain meds and it was probably only an hour later that I asked for the epidural.  Of course, then, the nurse checked me and announced that, wonder-of-wonders, I was almost to 10 cm.   Scariest moment of my life.  Period.  I wasn’t excited that I was almost done, or happy that I had gotten lucky with such a short labor.  All I was thinking about was whether or not that anesthesiologist was going to get his butt into my hospital room and fix me up so I would survive the next bit.

He did and I did.  I’ve heard all sorts of things–good and bad–about epidurals, and the idea of sticking a needle with pain medication into my back is scary and makes me feel a little nauseous, but it worked and it was amazing.  The rest of the birth was very painful, but it was manageable.  And of course, it was all worth it when they handed me my big little Sophia.

We’re all doing well, and hoping to get some sort of schedule established before our trip to the native state next month!  Nursing gives me plenty of time to write (albeit at a MUCH slower pace since I’ve been relegated to use of one hand), and I’ve finally finished up my online classes for a little while, so I’m hoping to be back in the blogging world in full force.  Guess we’ll see!

 

 

Sidenote: I’ve been terrified to step on a scale since I had her because I didn’t think there was any way all 30 pounds could have come off in the delivery, but I finally did and I’m only up 5 pounds from my pre-prego weight.  The belly visibly shrinks every day, and I’m pretty sure the 5 pounds is all tied up in breastfeeding  so I’m feeling pretty good!  Just need a little bit of toning in the belly and I’ll be back to bikini-ready-status for the everlasting summer that is Hawaii 😀

One thought on “Sophia Louise Peterson

Leave a Reply

