Decorating on the Cheap

Now that Thanksgiving and Christmas are practically upon us, I’m really beginning to look forward to decorating.  I’ve always loved the holidays, and now that I have my own little home, decorating it is a huge interest.

Last year, since it was Superman’s and my first Christmas in our own home, so we focused on getting the staples.  A Christmas tree (faux, both because we have a smallish car, and because real Christmas trees are much harder/more expensive to come by here in Hawaii), several strands of lights, and a fair amount of tree ornaments were on the budget.  Now that we’re onto our second holiday season, I’m looking to branch out and hopefully find some more decorating things–but without spending scads of money.

Let’s face it–decorating for the holidays can be ridiculously expensive.  Just yesterday I was scouting out the Christmas goodies at a local store, just wondering how much some of the decorations I was interested in getting would add up to.

Nice wreaths range from 20 to 40 dollars.

Garlands are 25-35 dollars

Stockings are 15 dollars

Ornaments are anywhere from 5- 35 dollars

Tablecloths will set you back at least 20 dollars

Suffice it to say, decorating isn’t cheap, and I just can’t justify spending 100+ dollars on decorations when we’re going to be buying Christmas presents and dealing with the expenses of holiday food as well.

Luckily, the Internet is an amazing place and I’ve found some fabulous–thrifty–ideas for decorating.

I’ve compiled my 5 favorite ideas, just for you, and I’ll be posting pictures when I finish doing my own bit of decorating!

#5 – Printables.  Thanks to the Internet there are kajillions (excuse my not-so-technical term) of art printables or word printables that you can very easily download and print off, and put in extra picture frames you may have around the house, or picture frames from the dollar store.  The biggest cost is paper, if you use picture frames you already have, and $5 for a ream of paper isn’t bad at all in the grand scheme of things.

#4 DIY stockings. Whether your thing is crocheting, sewing, or knitting, there are free patterns for stockings littered all over the internet.  Ravelry has a wide selection of free crocheted or knit christmas stockings.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/search#craft=crochet&query=christmas%20stocking&availability=free&view=captioned_thumbs&sort=best

http://www.womansday.com/home/craft-ideas/craft-project-christmas-stocking-113534

(Unfortunately, my blog isn’t letting me create physical links for some reason, so you’ll have to copy and paste the web address.)

#3 Fruit centerpiece.  Call me crazy, but I love a big ol’ fruitbowl, or dish of uncracked nuts.  We have several large glass vases.  Tie a pretty bow out of Christmas ribbon around a plain vase or glass bowl with fruit or uncracked nuts and tada… centerpiece.  Along the same lines, you can make your house smell spectacular with spices you probably have right in your cupboard.

http://www.make-it-do.com/make-it/the-smells-of-the-season/

#2 Check your local thrift stores for tablecloths or fabric to make your own.  Nothing easier to sew than a tablecloth.  Four straight seams and done.

#1 If all else fails, buy lights.  Strands of lights are relatively inexpensive (4-5 dollars apiece), and can be used a multitude of ways.  Staircases, doorjams, book cases, wrapped around vases.

There you have it.  Enjoy

One thought on “Decorating on the Cheap

  1. Lisa Jones says:

    You forgot one– bum off relatives! My mom is sending me Christmas decorations she bought at the dollar store, LOL. But I am in the same boat as you. The budget last year was the tree and its decorations. This year I am expanding, just not sure which way I want to go. Love the picture of Sophia! What a happy elf!

Leave a Reply

