Soph-Limericks

This isn’t real poetry, just a little limerick I wrote about Sophiapea yesterday, but it made me laugh, and it’s highly true about life with Sophia at the moment. And on that note–if you visit me during this phase, please don’t expect a clean house 🙂

Once, on an island, lived Sofi,
And Sofi was my child.
Sofi was sweet,
And Sofi was mild,
But once in a while, Sofi got a bit wild.

She cried just to say,
“Mommy, don’t set me down.”
Clenched my hair in a death grip
When she neared the ground.

I looked round the house,
Held my head in dismay.
Kitchen and living room– in great disarray.
Bathrooms and bedrooms–toys in the way.

“Sophia,” I cried. “I love you, I do!
I love taking care of you. Honest! It’s true!
But the cleaning and scrubbing all must be done too.

Floors need to be vacuumed,
Mirrors need to be shined,
Clothes need to be folded,
Dinner must be on time.
Can’t you see, Sofi, I’ve not arms enough
To hold you AND still do all of this stuff.
Sofi, I love you.
I love you, I do!
I love taking care of you–honest! It’s true!
But the cleaning and scrubbing all must be done too!”

Then Sofi looked up with her big, sad, brown eyes,
And tried hard to grin,
But she just couldn’t quite.

That sweet look undid me,
I started to think,
She just wants some time–
Throw that towel in the sink.
I stooped over a little and kissed her soft head,
“I love you, sweet Sofi. I love you, I do.
These jobs keep just fine,
And for now, I have you.”

I scooped Sofi up and we spun round the kitchen,
She giggled as we danced, and laughed at me singin’
“I love you, I do.
Love you all of the time.
More than the laundry
And more than the grime.
I’ll love you forever.
You’re my sunshine.”

20121116-060420.jpg

One thought on “Soph-Limericks

Leave a Reply

