2013, here we come

Let me just begin by saying that I fully realize we’re halfway through January now and technically the window for the “NEW YEARS” post is long closed.  It doesn’t bode well for the rest of the year that we’re only fifteen days in, and I’m already fifteen days behind. There’s no nice way out of this hole either.  We still have our Christmas tree up.  Yep, that’s how bad it is.  At this point I’ve seriously considered trying to just move the Christmas tree out of the way and leave it up until next year.  Unfortunately, I keep remembering that’s a no-go because by Christmas time next year all of our stuff will probably be packed up and in whatever limbo the Navy decides to put it in until we get to our next command.  So if we are in Hawaii still at Christmas time, we’ll be sitting around on bean bags or loaner furniture, and there won’t be any Christmas decorations at all.  If you ask me, that’s even sadder than the fact that the Christmas tree is still up.

 

The last three weeks have been a whirlwind of activity.  We had family out over Christmas and New Years, and spent every day either at the beach or seeing some of the sites around Hawaii.  On top of all that, I finally started my online courses again and have been madly studying in every bit of spare time I can wrangle.

There’s this funny thing about 9 month olds–particularly my own very mobile, noisy, messy, mischievous model–they require attention.  Not just the passing five minutes of attention you might give a dog in an hour if you had things you really needed to do, but at least 55 minutes of that hour.  Don’t try to kid yourself that you still have 5 minutes left out of the hour either, because unless you don’t mind using the bathroom with a pair of googly eyes staring at you, and sticky little hands pulling on your knees to stand up, you’re going to use 3 of those five minutes sitting in the bathroom with the door closed, talking reassuringly through the door to your wailing 9-month-old.  If she stops crying promptly when you open the door, then you might have 2 minutes to whip your computer out and attempt to log in.  That last part is pretty iffy though.

I joke about it alot but I completely love and adore my daughter.  I love watching her grow and learn things every day.  The things she does completely crack me up.  Yesterday, I forgot to close the bathroom door, and when I turned around she was sitting in a pile of shredded toilet paper with the biggest, happiest grin on her face.  I couldn’t help it–I just laughed and got the camera.  I’m really worried for the day when she does something legitimately bad, but hopelessly funny, because I’ll most likely just bust up laughing and whip out the camera.  She might be a brat and I might be a horrible mother, but at least we’ll  have fun doing it.

IMG_5549I have 5 goals for the new year.

1) Write more.  I’m not necessarily promising to write more on my blog, although I would like to at least start writing regular book reviews.  I’ve reached the point where I realize I can’t do everything.  Right now, I want to focus on trying to finish another novel before we move or I get prego again.  I realize that with an increasingly mobile baby that’s unlikely, but that’s what I want to focus on.

2) Read more.  Not just fiction either, though I do love it.  I want to specifically work on increasing my knowledge of US history.

3) See more. This is most likely our last year in Hawaii, so I want to focus on enjoying all that Oahu has to offer with my Superman and Sophiapea.  We really want to visit at least one more of the Hawaiian islands before we leave, too.

4) Exercise more.  I’m really happy with how fit I’ve become since starting Stroller Strides in June, however, I want to begin working on my own exercise routine so that I maintain my fitness at our next command, even if there isn’t a Stroller Strides.

5) Live in the moment.  It’s really easy to get caught up thinking and planning our life in the future, especially with a move coming up, and not knowing exactly where we’re going or how certain logistics will work out, but I want to focus on enjoying every single second I have in the present with the love of my life and our sweet baby girl.

Wherefore if God so clothe the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith? Therefore take no thought saying, “What shall we eat?” or “What shall we drink?” or “Wherewithal shall we be clothed?” for your heavenly Father knows that you have need of all these things.  But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.  Take therefore no thought for the morrow, for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself.  Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.  ~ Matthew 6: 30-34

Leave a Reply

