Homemaker Monday

I’ve been so quiet in the blogosphere lately… life has been busy, and even now we’re in the process of moving, but I’m taking a little time out both for stress-relief and to get the creative brainpower flowing hopefully before we begin our next few weeks of not having a house or any of our normal entertainment outlets. What better time for writing, eh?

Homemaker Monday is a blog linkup hosted by Diary of a Stay at Home Mom.

The weather… IS HOT. I don’t remember our other summers in Hawaii being so humid and muggy, but this one is.  High 80’s and humid all week.  We are definitely looking forward to the respite of cooler weather in Washington where we will be next week (!!!)

Right now I am… in the middle of scouring the kitchen.  It’s the last “to-do” on our cleaning checklist, besides weed wacking the mini-yard, but I sat down to eat lunch, read some blogs, and decided it probably wouldn’t kill me to take a 15 minute writing break.

Thinking… There are still so many little loose ends laying around the house.  We have to get rid of the paint/aerosols that the movers wouldn’t pack, clean out the fridge (ugh), put a screen protector back on the front door, pick up and get rid of all of our cleaning supplies… how can it look like so much and so little to do all at once???

On my reading pile… not that I have much time for reading, but I do have two books from the library that I would ideally like to finish before we move out on Wednesday.  All bets are off on whether I actually will.  I have:

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill and A Brief History of Montmaray by Michelle Cooper.  After I leave them at the library on Wednesday, I have my kindle appropriately stocked with reading material for the endless days in hotels that I know are coming.

On my TV… Not too much, since our TV went out with our household goods.  We still have netflix on our laptops, so if I have any free time I’ll probably watch Dr. Who or Bones.

On the menu for this week… Really only have planned meals for today and maybe tomorrow.  The fridge is just about empty.  Tonight we’re having frozen chicken potpie, and tomorrow we’ll have scrambled eggs and some leftover soup.  Oh yes–the endless bizarre combinations uncovered when one is trying to empty out one’s pantry amazes me too.

On my to-do list… Clean the refrigerator/freezer, mop the kitchen floor, mop the entryway floor, wipe out the dishwasher, weedeat the backyard, wipe out cupboards, clean sinks, clean stove.

In the craft basket… None.  Whenever our stuff gets to Washington I do have a cute autumn hat in the works, but can’t do anything about it right now.

Looking forward to this week… Being DONE with all the cleaning and checkout crap.  Can’t wait to check into our hotel on Wednesday and just chill out until our flight on Monday!

From the camera…

Sophiapea is enjoying all of the empty cupboards

Sophiapea is enjoying all of the empty cupboards

Bible verse: Matthew 6: 25-30

Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on.  Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?  Behold the fowls of the air; for they sow not neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them.  Are ye not much better than they?  Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature?  And why take ye thought for raiment?  Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin: And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  Wherefore if God so clothe the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?

 

3 thoughts on “Homemaker Monday

  1. diarysahm says:

    Having just gone through a military move in June, I have to say I do NOT miss any part of it LOL

    What gets me the most is the crazy house inspection lists they give you, and you work your butt off and then they come through and give it a quick look and sign you off. UGH! LOl

    Good luck with the move! Have a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

